Home

By Blake Harper Special Correspondent

Athletes in high school have the responsibility of giving their all for themselves, their school, their coaches and their teammates. Participating in athletics is difficult yet provides athletes with many benefits as well.

For some student-athletes, a day on campus is extended an additional three to four hours for practice and games, in addition to giving up free time on the weekends. Their commitment and dedication to their sport come at a cost. This extra time each day can lead to stress, struggles with time management, and trouble focusing on other commitments. Other students who don’t participate in athletics have more time to focus on school work and their social lives.

Additionally, things can be unfair for athletes regarding school work and making time for it. Many students can stay for extra help after school and go right home to do their homework, something athletes are unable to do.

Senior David Villa, one of the 2023 Holliston High School Football team captains, spoke about the amount of time he spends at practice daily.

“Usually, I clear my schedule for at least three hours following the school day. There’s no set time for the end of practice. It just depends on who we are playing and what the coaches have in store for us,” explained Villa. “Things can be stressful at times when you know you have a lot of school work waiting for you at home, but you’re still on campus at practice.”

Some sports require less time and practice than others. At HHS, the football program requires the biggest dedication of time compared to other sports. Every day of the week consists of long practices that include watching film and physical work on the field. Other sports have shorter practices and are less of a commitment. 

A multi-sport athlete at Holliston High School, senior Aidan Ibbitson, spoke on how things are very different between football and track and field. 

“In football, you’re expected to be there, and there’s a punishment if you don’t show up. In track, it’s completely different. Practice is at a set time, and that’s pretty much it; everything else is on you. No one really cares if you don’t show up,” said Ibbitson. 

Aside from the amount of time their sport requires, athletes must make time for their social lives and other important relationships. When they spend hours every day at practice, it’s hard to find the time to spend with other people who are important to them.

“Throughout the season, I usually don’t get to see some of my other close friends as much. It definitely is one of the things I don’t look forward to,” said Villa. “I’m also not at home as much, so I spend a lot of time away from my family.”

Aside from various negatives, participation in team sports has also been beneficial for student-athletes. During the season, they experience many unique teaching moments and bond with their teammates and coaches. 

“The bonds you create are simply one of a kind. You spend so much time around your teammates and go through it all together; there’s nothing else like it,” explained Villa. “There’s not much I would give up for the relationships I have with my teammates.”

Recent studies at the National Federation of State High School Associations touch on these benefits and back up Villa experiences. “What students remember most from their athletic participation is the relationship and celebration they share with their teammates. High school athletes work together daily in strenuous practices, preparing for stressful situations in search of positive outcomes. In this pressured environment, students build relationships and learn to care for each other,” said Certified Medical Administrative Assistant Dr. Steve Amaro.

Participating in athletics also leads to being exposed to discipline. Being coached and guided away from bad habits helps students become better people and more unselfish in general. Skills and life lessons are taught through athletics. 

“I love discipline. Discipline makes winners, in my opinion. Everyone should have discipline in life, as it has made me much more mature and shown me what’s right,” said Ibbitson.

“I think discipline has shaped me as a person,” agreed Villa. “I feel like I would be a completely different person without sports. Coaches teach me the specifics of football and things like manners and how to not take things for granted.”

Current Varsity Football Coach and former football player, Mr. Kevin LaMarque also sees the positive aspects of playing team sports.

“I feel students benefit greatly from being part of a sports team. Outside of the physical and mental health benefits of physical exercise, playing team sports helps students grow socially. Communication, collaboration, and accountability are all skills that translate off the field into everyday life,” said Mr. LaMarque. “The ability to take coaching or criticism, not get discouraged by it, and learn from it is crucial if you want to grow as a person.”

Aside from his takeaways as a coach, Lamarque also discussed his playing days and how he relates football to his life.

“I have learned more life lessons on the football field than any other part of my life,” said LaMarque. “There has rarely been a problem in my life that I have not been able to relate to a practice or game from my playing days. I can reflect on how myself or other teammates overcame hardships and draw inspiration from it.”

Leave a comment